Archive for February 10, 2010

Quilt inspiration

As you have seen, thus far I have only had the guts to make strip quilts – and very basic strip quilts at that. I need some inspiration to expand my horizons, and these quilts do exactly that.

Anything by Oh, Fransson, especially her Scrappy Starlings Hedgerow Quilt. I attempted a similar pattern before I was consistent at seam allowances and good at ironing – sadly nothing like this stunning quilt.

All of these beautiful projects inspire me to become a better quilter: http://ankastreasures.wordpress.com/2008/10/07/preview-of-livin-large/.

Oh, to have Heather Mulder Peterson's talent. See her blog here: http://ankastreasures.wordpress.com/

My next project, I hope, is to try to make a house quilt block that looks like our house, after finding inspiration here:

Quilt Dad has some amazing projects - check him out: http://www.quiltdad.com/

February 10, 2010 at 7:43 pm 5 comments

Nurse softie

I love surfing blogs for inspiration. I found these easy-enough looking softies here, that are just too adorable. I didn’t follow this pattern, but it did open my eyes to making softies outside of the animal realm.

I mentioned in an earlier post my burgeoning collection of acceptable career-based crafts. So far, there’s a nurse and a doctor. (No, the cowboy and matador don’t fall in the same category :))

Ta-da!

February 10, 2010 at 6:10 am Leave a comment


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 53,900 hits

Posts through time