In which my husband gets swindled into agreeing to a herd of babydoll sheep

January 25, 2011 at 3:07 pm 1 comment

Not ours ... yet

Our prenuptial arrangements seemed a bit strange from the start, especially for two ‘city kids.’

– He must agree to learn to tolerate sleeping with a fan, because I refused to give up circulating air at night.
– We would always have a minimum of 2 dogs, in case our dog(s) chose a favorite. I mean, how sad would it be to have only one dog and that dog liked my husband better? Not an option.
– At some point in life, we would own a horse. And one milk cow. And possibly some chickens. And any other farm animal that might be considered later on.

My poor husband. You’re probably wondering what he got in exchange. I’m trying to remember now, myself. Funny how your own sticking points are much clearer in your memory. I think the deal had something to do with having his own target range when we had lots of land (which clearly we will need to with all of the farm animals, and clearly the range will be a safe, respectable distance from our petting zoo), and a few other minor quibbles.

The point is, there have been some changes in our prenuptial agreement. And so the campaign has begun for a herd of babydoll sheep.

It started with this article. And the fact that we hire out our grass mowing. A mild interest in sustainability coupled with the darned adorableness of the woolly creatures had me fully convinced that our future involved these eco-friendly lawnmowers. The fact that I could dress them in bandannas, train them to fetch and that they would come when I called them put me over the top.

In all honesty, my husband is a pretty easy pushover and happy to go along for the ride. The conversation went something like this:

“I think we should get some babydoll sheep.”

“Babydoll sheep?”

“Yes. They’re adorable. They’re the size of Rufus, and come to think of it, they look like Rufus too.”

“Uh …”

“We could spin their wool into yarn and I can make scarves.”

“Uh …”

“They are cute. And huggable. They can wear bandannas. They come when you call them – one of our dogs doesn’t even do that. You can walk them ON A LEASH. How flippin’ sweet is that?”

“Is this in addition to the cows?”

“No, I’d probably trade in the hypothetical cow for 2-3 hypothetical babydoll sheep.”

“I think we may have a deal. Can we turn the shed into a stable?”

 

We (and by this I mean I) spent the rest of the night watching babydoll sheep YouTube videos and finding awesome things like this.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I married that man.

P.S.  – While we *could* turn our shed into a stable, and while our city allows sheep within city limits, our yard is too small. So these hypothetical sheep will stay that way for awhile longer.

Entry filed under: animal crafts, marriage. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Do people still eat pumpkin in January? Bread machines rule, as do coworkers who let you borrow their garage sale finds

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kiwidutch  |  January 25, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Ah Ha wooly baa lambs, having lived on a sheep station I have had my fair share as pets, My parents looked after a few more… …35 000 of them more or less.
    When we moved to the city we bought one with us, a special one with probably the blackest fleece you have ever set eyes on. My father would sheer it and my mother would spin the wool into heavy wool jumpers, mixed with massive bags of white wool bought up from the farm by friends from time to time.
    Thanks for a trip down memory lane!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,590 hits

Posts through time

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

