Christmas is just around the corner …

October 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm 4 comments

So if you read many craft blogs, you know that others have been preparing for Christmas since, say, July. I am not that kind of crafter.

Instead, I’ve been searching for Christmas ideas for easy crafts to make, with existing fabric. Times are tight in our house and I need something I can make for gifts for people, with my existing stash.

For others in the same situation, I’m including links of possible project ideas, so you can benefit, too!

I am really loving the idea of some homemade Christmas stockings. Here are some patterns/ideas I’ve found online:

Moda Bake shop pattern

Martha Stewart stocking

Easy pincushion for sewing friends

A rag rug

Adorable fabric house – I am super excited to try this

Cute mitten ornament

Sock reindeer stuffed animal

Lots of great softie inspiration

Entry filed under: affordable craft, decorating, handsewn, Holiday gifts, people softies, quick project, quilting, sewing, softie, Toys. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The emptying of the iPhone photos Recession cooking

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fran  |  October 6, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks for putting together links for ideas. One year I made “Laundry” signs – letters outlined in the big quilting stitches on tea-colored muslin, border with a ‘down-home’ print with a few buttons clustered in one corner. My friends loved them! The whole thing measured about 9 x 16.

    Reply
    • 2. mm  |  October 6, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      Sounds very cute!

      Reply
  • 3. Lita Jones  |  October 13, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I really enjoyed the ideas you have for Christmas. It took me several days to get through your list, I got sidetracked on the Martha Stewart site. I am not a bigi of of M. S. , but the web site is amazing.

    I love your sense of humor and love of life.

    Lita

    Reply
    • 4. mm  |  October 14, 2010 at 7:52 am

      Lita,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and for your sweet comment! I do love Martha Stewart but you’re right, her website is the best part! So many great ideas. Now, to only have time to try them all … šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,594 hits

Posts through time

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

