New quilt top finished

September 29, 2010 at 8:39 pm Leave a comment

I finished a new quilt top and backing, which are waiting on funding to be quilted. 🙂 This quilt was designed for either the top of our bed or for our guest bed. It’s by far the biggest quilt I have ever done – about 90X65 inches. It also looks deceptively simple, as it required more exact measuring/sewing than I have ever accomplished before.

The idea for this quilt started with the middle blue fabric with the off-white hummingbirds. I loved it and wanted to base a quilt off of it for our bedroom, but only had 1/2 yard of fabric. I decided to use the neutral color as my base, and find complimentary fabrics that were also based off a single color paired with the neutral color. I chose chocolate brown and red, because I love the combination with the aqua blue and because it matches my bedroom well. So without further ado …

The quilt is made up of 7 squares of the blue fabric, and 14 squares each of the red and chocolate brown fabrics. The squares are 6X6 inches. In between the squares are 4 inches of natural fabric on all sides, and then the whole quilt has a 6 inch chocolate brown sashing.

Entry filed under: handsewn, quilting, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Delicious cookies, the lazy way The emptying of the iPhone photos

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,594 hits

Posts through time

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

