Archive for July 25, 2010

Progress!

With a friend’s baby due pretty much any day now, it was time to finally get in gear and start making something out of the fabric I bought months ago.

So today, I sat down, decided on a pattern, cut out the fabric, and finished the top!

After this part was finished, I realized it was just a bit too small. I added some coordinating strips to two sides, and it was the right size and looked more tied together.

The quilt will be kind of a wonky size – 35 inches by 43 inches. But hopefully just big enough to snuggle up with a sweet little baby boy. The quilt is made up of 6.25 inch squares cut from 3 patterned fabrics and 3 solid fabrics, so finished four-square blocks are about 11.5 inches by 11.5 inches. They are sewn for a diagonal pattern with the solid colors. I designed it to be super simple to balance out the busyness of the transportation fabrics. Colors were chosen to coordinate with the anchors in one of the pattern pieces. The pattern with little boats says “Little Sailor.” Too sweet.

Now, it’s a race to finish this quilt before we leave for vacation next weekend. The baby is due while we are gone!

July 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm 1 comment


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 53,899 hits

Posts through time

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031