It was meant to be: Thrifting Thursdays (almost)

July 21, 2010 at 9:36 pm 12 comments

My love and I, we are united at last.

It's love

There was a minor cosmetic surgery when this moved in – the orange knobs were removed and replaced with these great knobs I found at Lowe’s that look like old ceramic, handpainted knobs. (Actually old would have been even better)

Please ignore the blurriness, my good camera was out of charge.

Filled with my fabric and sewing supplies. I need to organize the fabric and refold the messy pieces, but I wasn’t feeling nearly that organized tonight.

Oooh ... all the fabric in one place

Although I still need to work on the organization inside, I am trying to incorporate soem old containers to hold sewing supplies. My favorite is the antique ice bucket.

Also, not sure how old the cabinet is but it is lined with this amazing contact paper that looks like it’s straight out of the 60s – funky fruits and veggies in blue, lime green, and muted brown. It’s pretty awesome. A smart person would have remembered to take a photo before loading it with craft supplies.

Can you tell a lot of my sewing is for baby gifts? (Pink and blue thread :))

United and it feels so good.

(For more vintage fun, vist here)

Entry filed under: decorating, sewing, thrifting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

It was love, and then it wasn’t, and then … it might be? Taming the beast

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. GardenOfDaisies  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    What a fantastic hutch!!! Love the color

    Reply
  • 2. Farmlady  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Doesn’t it make you happy to have everything in one place and organized.?
    This is so pretty. A china cabinet is a great idea for arts and craft storage.

    Reply
  • 3. Vonlipi  |  July 22, 2010 at 5:51 am

    Beautiful cabinet! That color is really nice.

    I’m glad you’re reunited. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Sherry  |  July 22, 2010 at 5:56 am

    What a beautiful cabinet and so much storage space!!!

    Reply
  • 5. P.  |  July 22, 2010 at 8:00 am

    That is a beautiful cabinet! Love the color, and it looks like the perfect spot for your fabric and supplies.

    Reply
  • 6. Miri  |  July 22, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Great hutch!

    Reply
  • 7. Susan Freeman  |  July 22, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Love that color! What a great use for a charming vintage piece!!

    Love,
    Susan and Bentley
    xxoo

    Reply
  • 8. Joy @ Joy of Desserts  |  July 22, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Looking great. I can tell you are very happy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. coloradolady  |  July 22, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I lOVE this hutch and what a great use of this beauty! I love it. Have a great VTT!

    Reply
  • 10. Sally  |  July 22, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    You lucky, what a great cabinet! Love the color and so perfect for a craft cabinet.

    Happy VTT,
    Sally

    Reply
  • 11. Rachelle  |  July 23, 2010 at 11:54 am

    What a great idea! I love how it turned out, and the colors too!

    Reply
  • 12. Anna Matthews  |  July 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    That’s a beautiful piece, I love using old furniture as craft storage. The ice bucket is great, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,770 hits

Posts through time

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

