Garden sadness

July 2, 2010 at 5:37 pm 3 comments

It has taken me a bit to be over this enough to write this, but, our house was hit by a microburst two weeks ago while we were in Kansas City visiting with my inlaws. Luckily, our house was OK, but our garden and backyard – not so much.

Huge, huge branches cracked off of our maple tree in the back, sending a 25-foot branch crashing against our cable lines and power lines. Yes, this was sad and a P.I.T.A., but the saddest, oh the saddest – was the 15-foot-long branch that feel smack dab in the middle of my backyard garden. Half of my sunflowers were broken at the neck, and nearly all of my flowering lemon balm was crushed. My backyard, you see, is the unruly garden, filled mainly with 5-foot-tall lemon balm, 6-foot-tall goldenrod, 6-foot-tall sunflowers, and the occasional lily, black-eyed susan and mint and basil plants. I let it grow unruly and tall because it is visible out my kitchen windows when it grows that tall and makes the view all beautiful bright, sunny, yellow and cool purple flowers. It’s pure joy every time I look out the window.

Except this year, now. With half of the flowers gone and the remaining leaning every which way as a result of the tree damage, it looks uncared for and abandoned. Sigh.

Even worse, the 60+ mph sustained winds knocked down and killed many plants on the side of my house, my beloved 5 feet X 45 foot perennial garden. All of the petals were knocked off my asiatic and day lillies. My yarrow was beaten to the ground. My holly hocks snapped and died. My coneflowers were blown over. Columbine petals were scattered to the wind. Onion and tomato plants toppled. The petals of my carnations blew away. A whole year’s worth of waiting, blown away in one crazy storm.

On the bright side, this is the great thing about perennials – there is always next year.

Entry filed under: gardening. Tags: , , , , .

Mostly local potato salad recipe A little quilting inspiration

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Cardie  |  July 4, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Oh how absolutely awful for you, that is so sad but I admire you for your positivity in looking forward to next year!!! try to keep smiling : )

    Reply
  • 2. Svetlina  |  July 11, 2010 at 2:41 am

    I`m so happy you didnt post a picture. Such a thing would make me cry. Honestly.

    Reply
  • 3. merrilymarylee  |  July 13, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    How traumatic! Most of them sound like plants that will indeed return, but losing homegrown tomatoes and basil? BUMMER!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,770 hits

Posts through time

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

