Front Porch Fridays

April 16, 2010 at 6:15 am 7 comments

A new feature on this blog will be ‘Front Porch Fridays,’ a sampling of homes from throughout parts of St. Joe. (Or other places if we’re on the road … oooh, exciting.)

Today, we played creepy by driving down two of St. Joe’s most beautiful streets – Lovers Lane and Ashland Avenue. Matt drove as slowly as he could without annoying the other drivers, and I took photos out the window. Luckily, no cops were called.

Here are just a few of the architectural gems from this part of town:

I love this house that used to be a church - although it seems like too much pressure to live in a church.

 

This beautiful home is for sale!

My favorite house on Lovers Lane. Usually has beautiful huge wreaths on it too - must have caught them between a change out. 🙂

To learn more about historic Lovers Lane, visit here: http://loverslanesaintjo.org/

Entry filed under: decorating, Front Porch Fridays. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Thrifting Thursdays – Bargain Birdies. Oooh, alliteration. Bad blogger, better gardener

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deanne Johnson  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:42 am

    I was wandering through quilt blogs this morning and stopped at yours – I love interesting architecture and old homes are so representational of American architure. I thought I recognized the homes in your photos and actually stopped to read your comments to discover that these homes are in my home town of St. Joseph – no wonder they looked familiar!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathy L  |  April 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    That’s a good idea to make posts about your hometown area! I loved my visit to the St. Louis area last August.

    Reply
  • 3. Lana @ Mz-Cellaneous  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Hi Mallory…
    Thanks for coming by my blog! It’s cool to find people with similar interests so close by!

    I say next time, just get out and take pictures. If anyone says anything, tell them there house is beautiful, you’re taking architecture pics and would they like a copy? Most ppl wouldn’t mind a bit!

    (don’t tell them the internet part lol)

    Lana

    Reply
  • 4. Gayle  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Oh, we have the same favorite house! I looked at it and though, Oh I love that one! Love the idea of sharing porch ideas on Fridays! I will have to share mine and maybe link over. I work on Fridays, so I will have to get it done early. We’ll see…

    Reply
  • 5. Curvalicious  |  May 3, 2010 at 5:56 am

    I really like your blog and will be visiting again 🙂
    Thx for commenting on my blog.
    That last, grey, house – is that Georgian style? – it’s gorgeous. The grey paintwork is perfect for it.
    Maybe I could photograph some nice old houses in England to show you…

    Reply
  • […] 15, 2010 Long time readers of my blog might remember my post that featured my favorite house in all of St. Joe. Driving to the farmer’s market the other day, I literally gasped as I drove past my favorite […]

    Reply
  • […] 15, 2010 Long time readers of my blog might remember my post that featured my favorite house in all of St. Joe. Driving to the farmer’s market the other day, I literally gasped as I drove past my favorite […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,594 hits

Posts through time

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

