Thrifting Thursdays – Bargain Birdies. Oooh, alliteration.

April 15, 2010 at 6:07 am 6 comments

Today’s Thrifting Thursdays find takes the cake for cheapness, and was one of my first buys after I purchased this house.

These little bird cards were found at an antique mall for 25 cents a piece. I picked out 7 of my favorites, and framed them in cheapo glass with no framed edges found on Target’s clearance shelves for $1 a piece. So, the main focal point of my living room cost $8.75.

Flanked by a beautiful fan my mom brought home from a trip to China

Entry filed under: decorating, thrifting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Let there be life Front Porch Fridays

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeanne  |  April 15, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Love your vintage birds. Actually I love all birds and have a bunch of them in my collection. They look great the way you framed and hung them. A clever idea that cost little but look like a lot more than 8.75. Good for you.

    Hugs, Jeanne

    Reply
  • 2. coloradolady  |  April 15, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Your birds are lovely. I have seen several vintage prints lately with birds on them, wish I had a wall to put them on!! I love last two, that yellow bellied one is a beauty. Have a great VTT!

    Reply
  • 3. CC  |  April 15, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    The little bird pictures are really cute. Happy VTT..

    Reply
  • 4. Laura @ Sahm I Am!  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Great idea! Way to go with the cute bird prints!

    Reply
  • 5. Carol @ Old Glory Cottage  |  April 16, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Those bird cards are so pretty, and I really like the way you displayed them! So thrifty!
    Happy VTT!
    Carol

    Reply
  • 6. ewenique  |  April 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Love the little birdie prints, would of loved to have them. Don’t know where you live, but you might be a neighbor. I live in Savannah, MO, on the road now with my hubby down in Palacios Texas but will be home soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,590 hits

Posts through time

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

