Thrifting Thursdays

March 25, 2010 at 6:16 am 13 comments

For the longest time, I struggled with what sort of decoration to put on the wall of our one and only bathroom in our house. It is so, so very small that is painted white, as are the cabinets, and our towels, rug and shower curtain are all in neutral colors. I am not a neutral colors person – but when your whole bathroom is about 4 feet by 8 feet, you do whatever you can to make it seem larger.

The mystery of what to put on the walls was solved with a trip to the St. Joseph Ave. Antique Store. This store is beautiful, which is especially impressive as this street holds few businesses and mostly rundown buildings and homes. It is a beautiful brick building with stunning hardwood floors and an original soda fountain. Not to mention, impeccable antiques, most of which I can’t afford.

However, one day, I discovered these awesome, cheeky, vintage pinup girl calendars. There was a slew but I selected my 3 favorites, and I can’t remember exactly what I paid for them – less than $10 a piece. I then framed them in clearance frames I found at Target that cost $3 a piece. I love how they look, a little bit risque but still classy.

Buying these was also pretty entertaining. I was speaking with the co-owner, who told me with some disgust that her husband collected old pinups and had finally decided to get rid of some, which is why these were in the shop. I thought it was cute and almost quaint that she was worried about his pinup collection – it seems so innocent compared to modern times.

Entry filed under: thrifting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Awesome gift Carnitas recipe

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indiana Keetha  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Maybe those are innocent for today, but they are VERY racey for back then!!! Wow – – – I see skin – – – right up to her very rounded backside!

    BTW – – – notice those beauties are much more well rounded than what is thought the “ideal” body size for a woman today.

    I think I LIKE that OLD ideal better – – – it’s closer to natural and I just hate diet and exercise.

    Reply
  • 2. P.  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I love these! What a great idea to frame them for your bathroom wall. I know someone who would love to have a vintage pinup calendar…any chance there’s any left in that store? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Vonlipi  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Love those Vargas girls! Yes they are very tame for today but were quite shoking for the 50’s!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Ann Creek  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Those were really risque (sp) sorry–for the day….. Looks cute for a bathroom. I can imagine my granddaughters reactions, they are 6 and 8, there would be plenty of giggles.

    Ann

    Reply
  • 5. Tammy  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Hey your pinup wall calendars are lovely. Very suitable for a bathroom. A unique way to decorate.

    Reply
  • 6. postcardy  |  March 25, 2010 at 10:06 am

    That’s an interesting thing to put in the bathroom. I bet they are a real conversation piece.

    Reply
  • 7. viridian  |  March 25, 2010 at 10:17 am

    yes they are innocent, compared to modern versions. the one on the right is also a funny commentary on modern art.

    Reply
  • 8. Maureen  |  March 25, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I love them! So cute!

    Reply
  • 9. Kathy  |  March 25, 2010 at 11:27 am

    What fun!
    Did you do anything to seal them from dampness over time?
    Kathy

    Reply
  • 10. coloradolady  |  March 25, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    These are really cute, what a great idea to frame them. Have a great VTT!

    Reply
  • 11. Serendipity Handmade  |  March 26, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Perfectly suited for a retro bathroom. Great idea! Happy VTT!

    Reply
  • 12. Natalie  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Mallory,

    Kevin’s birthday party is next weekend in KC and it would be great if you and your husband could come! If you are free on April 3, email me at nthull@gmail.com and I’ll send you the info! I am hosting a Murder Mystery Party so it will be a lot of fun!

    Natalie

    Reply
  • 13. Debbie  |  March 26, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Very unique bathroom decor. They are much classier than current pin-up photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,594 hits

Posts through time

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

