Homemade pickle recipe

March 14, 2010 at 10:20 am 1 comment

If there’s one food in the world I can eat every day, it’s pickles. I will be tempted to buy any kind of pickles at a farmer’s market, Amish market – whatever. I can’t resist the siren call of pickled cucumbers.

It’s always been a goal of mine to make refrigerator pickles, but for one reason or another I never got around to it. Oh my goodness … these are worth the effort. And, it’s not even that much effort – awesome. I am anxious to make these this summer with fresh cucumbers from the garden. And to try it with green beans, too.

You will need:

Four or more large cucumbers (more if the cucumbers are smaller)

One bell pepper

One large onion

Salt

Sugar

Vinegar

Mustard seed

Garlic powder

Dill weed

Celery seed

Step one: Cut cucumbers into desired-size pickle chips. I like really crunchy pickles, so I cut thick slices (1/3 inch). Cut bell peppers into small, bite-sized pieces. Cut onions into long, skinny slices.

Throw all vegetables in one big bowl, throw in one tablespoon of salt. Toss vegetables. Now, let them sit for one hour. This will draw out some of the extra water. After one hour, put into desired containers. (Because these are refrigerator pickles, no need to sterilize containers. Just wash out well with soap and water. You can even use leftover glass jars from other items – we used a leftover pickle jar and two salsa jars, cleaned out of course.)

Then, put two cups white vinegar, four cups of sugar, and your spices in a sauce pan. For my spices, I put 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsps mustard seed, 1 tsp dill weed and 1 tsp celery seed. Bring mixture to a boil, whisking as you go to dissolve the sugar. Let boil for about one minute, then remove from heat. After you let it cool for a minute or two (no longer), pour into containers all the way to the top. Put lids on containers. Let sit on the counter for 10 minutes or so to cool, then put in fridge. Pickles will be ready after four hours in the fridge, but even better the next day.

Start to finish, it takes about 5-6 hours for pickles, however actual working time is only about 15 minutes. And trust me, these will be the best pickles you have ever had. Sweet, sour, crunchy, salty, garlicky ….. the best snack ever.

Entry filed under: cooking, gardening, recipe. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Forcing spring indoors Homemade focaccia recipe

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gayle  |  March 14, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I may just have to do this. Who doesn’t love homemade pickles?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,679 hits

Posts through time

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

