Thrifting Thursdays

March 11, 2010 at 6:49 pm 12 comments

So before you declare a triumphant return from the almost dead … you should probably make sure you have triumphantly returned from the almost dead. Alas, still fighting some sort of illness off. However, I wanted to make a very special post for Thrifting Thursdays. This probably doesn’t completely count – as it was a gift, and not a thrift – but I think it fits.

This, along with the beautiful quilt featured in an earlier post, was one of the most meaningful wedding gifts we received. Matt’s aunts gave me, collectively, this Pyrex bowl that belonged to his grandma, who unfortunately passed away before I could meet her. This came along with a copy of a family recipe book they had put together. Each of the grandkid’s wives receive one of the grandma’s bowls as a wedding present. What a neat tradition. It was especially neat in our case as I collect Pyrex bowls just because I like them – and this one obviously means so much more. Matt’s grandparents didn’t have much, and his grandma cooked all of the meals for her very large family. They had a huge vegetable garden and his grandma used everything they grew, canning much of it to make it through the long South Dakotan winters. I’m sad I never got to meet his grandparents on that side, as I would have loved to seek their gardening advice. However, I am thankful that thanks to his kind aunts, a piece of his grandma will always be a part of our kitchen.

See other great vintage items here.

Entry filed under: cooking, marriage, recipe, thrifting. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Back from the (nearly) dead Loyal friends

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    What a fantastic tradition, I would love a gift like that.

    Reply
  • 2. coloradolady  |  March 11, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    What an amazing gift! What a treasure, the color is so pretty! Have a great VTT!

    Reply
  • 3. SueWis  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I love this color and how nice that the bowls were passed on to a new generation.

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica Hills  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I love that bowl – that is one of my very favorite colors. I am starting a Mclinky party Favorite Things Friday the 19th and would love you to come join in if you are interested! Thanks for the comment on my blog!

    Reply
  • 5. Julie  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    What a great gift! Loving the color!

    Reply
  • 6. Jen (Superwife)  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Aw! I loved getting a lot of vintage pieces from shane’s grandparents! 🙂
    I see you are still sicky, feel better!

    Reply
  • 7. The Happy Homemaker  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:54 am

    How wonderful! It is in beautiful condition and really such a treasure.Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 8. Gary  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I do so love Thrifting Thursdays. I have some small colored pyrex bowls that I just love. I use them frequently. I use all my dishes, new, old, vintage, valuable, cheap–I figure what am I gonna do, take it with me??? Might as well use it, and if it breaks, then that just gives me an excuse to buy a new dish.

    Reply
  • 9. Stephanie  |  March 12, 2010 at 8:24 am

    That is a really great story! Very special for a family to honor their Grandmothers life by passing along the actual bowls she used each and every day. Thanks so much for sharing and hope you will feel all better, soon! Peace, Stephanie

    Reply
  • 10. marina  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I love that bowl, in fact I have one just like it 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Tammy  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Hi,
    Nice bowl,what a great wedding present. A lovely family tradition.

    Reply
  • 12. SueLovesCherries  |  March 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    What a great family tradition! I hope you continue it with your kids. Pyrex bowls are so cheerful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,770 hits

Posts through time

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

