A magnificent stash

February 28, 2010 at 7:20 am 6 comments

I attempted to organize my fabric stash the other day, with little success. I really need a dedicated piece of furniture that I can store it in, instead of just rubbermaid containers.

The alarming part about organizing the fabric was realizing just how much I have happened to collect in the 8 or so months I have been sewing – not even including what I’ve used in actual projects.

Matt, if you’re reading this – now is the time to look away. 🙂

In 8 months, the remaining stash not including ones sewn into quilts or other projects, is:

136 fat quarters (34 yards of fabric)

42 pieces of fabric from 1/2 yard – 3 yards of fabric, general

40 pieces of kid fabric, from 1/2 yard – 3 yards of fabric

Plus, two drawers full of felt and felt scraps, and one drawer full of fabric scraps.

Approximate total yards of entire collection: 120 yards

Oooof. Better lay off on going fabric shopping until I’ve made many more projects.

The amazing part? It all fits here.

How do you keep your fabric stashes under control?

Entry filed under: sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Another owl – sensing a theme? Snickerdoodles = heaven

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beemodern  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    My husband built me a “fabric hutch” which is a beautiful piece of furniture. It is about 6′ long, 6′ tall, and 20″ deep. There are seven shelves, lined with muslin, and i put a velvet curtain that closes off the fabric from dust (somewhat) and sunlight. My entire fabric stash (almost!) fits in there and when I open the velvet curtains, I can see the whole stash, organized by color of course. It’s really great and I love it. It’s colorful and inspiration and organized!!

    Reply
  • 2. Gail  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    I don’t think I want to count my FQ’s! You are brave to post your list for all to see, including your husband!

    Reply
  • 3. Pat Bishop  |  March 1, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Mallory, If you can count your stash its not big at all. But I must say for just 8 months worth you have been quite resourceful. There are worse things than being a fabriholic. 😉 (love your labradoodle, that’s the dog I want next)

    Reply
  • 4. Gayle  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Mine is a paper stash for scrapbooking and cards. You don’t want to see what my desk looks like now. But I am having fun1

    Reply
  • 5. Jocelyn  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Am I supposed to keep my stash under control?? I am not even attempting to count how many yards are in my stash 😉 Let’s just say that I have stock in Rubbermaid containers.

    Reply
  • 6. sleepycathollow  |  March 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    ::::fingers in ears-lalalalala::::

    What fabric stash? No…that’s not fabric in the canning hutch! You are very mistaken!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,770 hits

Posts through time


