Thrifting Thursdays

February 25, 2010 at 6:45 am 11 comments

One of my favorite loves is going to flea markets and antique stores. So, I am introducing a new feature called Thrifting Thursdays that will contain, at least to start, treasures in our house found at flea markets, antique stores, relatives’ homes, garage sales.

To start, chairs. I showed a few when showing my creative space. I love colorful, funky, individual chairs. I would fill our house with all chairs if possible. If it’s in great shape, slightly vintage, and has funky fabric – I’m sold. It also has to cost under $75. Our whole house has been decorated for a ridiculously small price, and spending more than that at a flea market violates my ideals. 🙂

Please ignore the laptop cords in the corner. I love this chair and it was a steal at $40. I love the carved legs, and the oversized pattern. I found this at Revival, a fantastic furniture consignment/new furniture store in Kansas City. (I only go to look at the consignment pieces) Unfortunately, my favorite branch of Revival, that used to be on 75th and Metcalf, closed. It had funkier, more affordable pieces. However, there is still a great store located on Metcalf, just north of 95th street. It’s worth a drive if you’re looking for something unique and affordable.

What great thrifting finds have you found? Check out this Web site to see others who are finding amazing things, too: Colorado Lady.

Entry filed under: decorating, thrifting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

My quilting hero Reversible table runner how to

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jocelyn  |  February 25, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Check out my thifting blog post, and look at the chair.

    http://justalittlesouthernhospitality.blogspot.com/2009/08/chair-re-do.html

    This chair belonged to my hubby’s grandmother. My sweet friend helped recover it for me. It still had straw for the seat. Yours might also. I had so much to share about my love of vintage that I started another blog, and kept Happy Cottage Quilter for my quilting adventures. I’d love for you to stop by for a visit.

    Jocelyn
    http://happycottagequilter.blogspot.com/
    http://justalittlesouthernhospitality.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 2. Gayle  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I went shopping today and found such lovely things. I wanted to buy every one. I came home with some stamps to make some cards for spring.
    I adore your chair!! Wow, the wood floor is not bad either.

    Reply
  • 3. Kat  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    I love your chair and what at steal! I love the blue and white fabric too!

    Kat 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. marina  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    That is indeed a beautiful chair. Great pattern.
    http://thriftshopadventures.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 5. Roslyn  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I wish I had more time for thrift stores! I miss out on many deals I’m sure.

    Reply
  • 6. Molly  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving some encouragement! Love that chair! 40 bucks? AMAZING!

    Reply
  • 7. Karina  |  February 26, 2010 at 10:05 am

    What a nifty chair! I love the pattern and the lines on her are beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    -brightest blessings-
    karina

    thasnifty.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 8. Tammy  |  February 26, 2010 at 10:32 am

    That is a great chair for only $40. Good for you.

    Reply
  • 9. Kristina  |  February 26, 2010 at 11:02 am

    You have a lovely blog! Love that chair and thrifting in general 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. coloradolady  |  February 26, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I agree, I love thrifty things….and decorating on the cheap! Love your chair and the fabrics. glad you linked to VTT!

    Reply
  • 11. The Happy Homemaker  |  February 28, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Love the fun fabric!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,590 hits

Posts through time


