My quilting hero

February 24, 2010 at 6:50 am 5 comments

… is my Aunt Carol, or technically, my husband’s Aunt Carol. She is an incredible quilter, and can whip out even complicated patterns in an afternoon. She works for a fabric store, and has previously been a professional sewer.

She’s also insanely generous, and has provided me with quilting books, quilting magazines, and the beautiful Bernina I have. She also made us this beautiful quilt for our wedding gift.

I would guess that a lot of quilters have someone who turned them on to the hobby. Who was your inspiration?

Entry filed under: decorating, handsewn, marriage, quilting, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Rufus in the snow Thrifting Thursdays

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  February 24, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Hi

    I wanted to pop over and say hi and thank you for reading and commenting on my blog. I always love hearing from new people.

    I’m not sure who exactly turned me onto sewing. I’d have to say it was just an interest of mine since I was a teenager. I took it up in my 20’s but didn’t nearly spend as much time sewing as I do now. I love it and there is always something new to learn from it

    Reply
  • 2. merrilymarylee  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    This is gorgeous! Wonderful colors!

    When we moved to Wisconsin and the land of long winters, I signed up for a quilting class because it sounded like the perfect thing to do by the fire. I made one full-sized quilt and have done several crib quilts. I’d love to make a queen-sized applique quilt, but. . . Well, never say never!

    Reply
  • 3. Gayle  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Oh, so lovely. Kind of the colors of the sea. How blessed you are to have her. I have been into quilts since I was a little girl and saw all the old ones. My aunt made a quilt for her granddaughter that was pink and had a girl with a parasol. I wanted her to make me one so bad, and of course she never did. I sometimes think I need to make a quilt like that for myself even though I am now old. It takes so much patience to quilt that I just haven’t done one in ages.

    Reply
  • 4. Roslyn  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    No one in my memory in my family ever quilted though they were talented seamstresses & needle workers.
    A friend in TX in 1984 inspired me, thanks Audrey!

    Reply
  • 5. Carol Adams  |  November 4, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Hi Mallory! I didn’t even know about this blog until Chris told me about it. I’m not very computer savvy and spend very little time on line. You know, I’m usually sewing. 🙂 I just recently started looking at quilters blogs and I’m kinda hooked! If I knew a little more about computers, I would do one myself. So many talented quilters and sewers out there and so generous with their tips and ideas!
    More than happy to share with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,676 hits

Posts through time


