Baby blanket – trials and tribulations

February 23, 2010 at 8:19 am 5 comments

I wrote earlier about finding the perfect fabric for a coworker’s coming baby. Here are the fruits of the effort:

The perfect fabric

 

The backing

 

The blanked turned out pretty cute, but not exactly as planned. I thought this would be the perfect project to try some machine quilting on, since it was small. However, the flannel fabrics kept sticking to the all cotton batting, making it almost impossible to lay the layers completely flat. So, I ended up tying the quilt to finish it.

On the plus side, the flannels are super soft and it should make a very comfortable blanket for a newborn. 🙂 Readers – does anyone have suggestions to offer for layering batting and flannel fabrics and keeping everything smooth?

Entry filed under: handsewn, quilting, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

First attempt at machine quilting: Um, it’s done? Rufus in the snow

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I tape the backing to the floor… lots of tape! Roll the batting and then slowly unroll it onto the backing. Smooth… smooth… and then smooth with your hadns some more! After that, lay the top down and smooth some more. It is never quite perfect but once you think it’s close, pin a lot starting in the center of the quilt. Flannel is tough, kudos to you for attempting this! I love the fabric line too!

    Reply
  • 2. Jandi  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    That is the coolest fabric! I can’t decide if it is supposed to be insulting or just plain funny! LOL So, so cute! I have stopped pin basting and started using spray baste for large quilts and fusible batting for baby quilts (only because I can’t find the brand I like for large quilts). I haven’t had a pucker since I switched to this method.

    Reply
  • 3. ivoryspring  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    What a cute quilt. I am getting ready to start on some flannel quilts…. the comments left here are very helpful!

    Reply
  • 4. meanderingheart  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Adorable project! Learning to sew is somewhere on my to-do list, for when I have something resembling free time again!

    Reply
  • 5. kiwidutch  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:42 am

    A very Interesting post for me because here in Europe midwives and hospitals recommend blankets for newborns and never quilts. Therefore you never see baby quilts here, they only recommend them for children over two years of age. It’s very interesting to see how people do things in other parts of the world. I like the fabrics, do the rocket scientist and astronaut words come with the pink background as well?LOL I also like Jennifer’s comment hint that taping it to the floor helps get out wrinkles, I might try that tip when I next try and pin some un-cooperative fabric. I’m sure that your colleague will be delighted with this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,590 hits

Posts through time


