Some day, I will really learn how to embroider

February 18, 2010 at 6:17 am 2 comments

Until then, I will pretend I know how. I had a bit of leftover cream-colored felt, and lots of embroidery floss.

I freehand drew a bird onto the felt and hand-stitched over the top. I thought it turned out pretty cute. Then I sewed on a colorful fabric back and a little piece of ribbon on top, and stuffed. It can be an ornament, a plushy toy, or sit happily on a shelf.

I need to learn proper embroidery stitches, and want to explore more of this art form. Quilting is expensive – I need to include cheap projects like this to satisfy my creative itch, too. 🙂

Entry filed under: affordable craft, decorating, handsewn, quick project, sewing, softie, Toys. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Meet Rufus, a sodaholic Seeds for spring

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Walter  |  February 18, 2010 at 7:47 am

    As long as you keep on doing, you will attain mastery. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Sherri  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Stitchery is a lot of fun…and yes, so much more inexpensive than quilting. I think any art form where you are creating something is very therapeutic as well! So keep stitching…and quilting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,682 hits

Posts through time


