Seeds for spring

February 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm 3 comments

Snow is predicted for here tonight through tomorrow – a total accumulation of 3-5 inches. We’ve had about 2 times more snow than normal and ridiculously cold weather. I’m home sick today – for the second time in two months. I needed a pick me up.

So, it was time to order seeds for the spring’s garden. Just the pick me up I needed. I can’t wait to get my hands back in the dirt, to have small bouquets of brightly colored flowers, and to make delicious food with fresh herbs and veggies from the garden.

I ordered everything from rareseeds.com, and can’t wait for it to get here! The company is based in Missouri, so the seeds are semi local (regional anyway), non genetically modified, and will enable us to eat local food grown from our garden. Happy.

Here’s the stash that’s on it’s way to our house in the next few days:

Yellow prairie coneflower

Blue flax

Siam Queen Thai Basil

Genovese basil

Slow bolt cilantro

Dill bouquet

Purple coneflower

Feverfew

Oregano

Tarragon

Thai sweet basil

Yarrow

Contender Buff Valentine Bush Bean

Royalty Purple Bush Bean

Amarillo yellow carrots

Cosmic purple carrots

Snow white carrots

The only things remaining to purchase are 6 tomato plants (variety of roma and heirloom), and a bag or two of onion sets for growing green onions.

By the way, seed gardening is such a bargain. I will be getting between 150-300 seeds of all of the above and the total cost was only $35. Woohoo!

Entry filed under: cooking, gardening. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Some day, I will really learn how to embroider My creative space

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. copingkoala  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I’ve just learned that they are different coloured carrots- 10x 🙂 And I think it’s really great that you grow veggies in your garden!

    Reply
    • 2. mallorymurray  |  February 18, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      I understand! I have only ever grown the “orange” carrots so I thought it would be fun to branch out. Won’t they make a pretty salad?

      Reply
  • 3. ozarkhomesteader  |  February 20, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Super seed collection! You’ll have a beautiful garden.

    I really like growing purple carrots. For cooking, I like atomic red. I’ve been shocked at how different the flavor can be on “cooking” carrots versus “fresh” carrots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,679 hits

Posts through time


