Most complicated quilting block yet …

February 12, 2010 at 9:02 pm 6 comments

…. Not to say it was that complicated. As I’ve shown before, my ability so far has extended to being able to sew long strips of fabric together. But when I started seeing variations of cottage blocks everywhere, I had to try one.

I was inspired to try after reading this post. And Toni was nice enough to share with me the link to the free pattern.

Naturally, I completed the block in shades of pale blue and aqua (my favorite colors). I also added a small border around it, bringing the finished block to about 12X12 inches.

Easy quilting block

I would recommend this project to just about anyone – it was still not that difficult (took less than an hour including cut out time, sewing and ironing).

I have been wanting to learn how to actually finish a quilt but have been far too intimidated to learn on any larger project. So my goal for this month is to finish this block as a mini wall hanging, to get practice quilting and binding and all of the finishing steps that I’ve been too scared to try until now. Who knows, if this goes well, I might attempt a whole tablerunner. Dream big! 🙂

Entry filed under: handsewn, quick project, quilting, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Whoo-too: How to owl softie Another Martha Stewart project – what can I say, I love her.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  February 13, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Hi
    I love what you are doing. I’m a beginning quilt teacher, and the best thing is to just jump in there and fearlessly cut and sew that fabric.
    Have fun,
    Linda

    Reply
  • 2. Cathy  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Cottage blocks can be fun. I have a couple of them coming up in one of my block swaps. It is fun to try different fabrics for fun effects. We have put people in the windows and flowers in the gardens.

    You have to start someplace. I t looks like you are doing a great job!

    Reply
  • 3. Natalie  |  February 14, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Hi,

    I’m Kevin Smith’s gf and he sent me your blog … cute, cute, cute!

    I’ve been quilting since I was a kid and wish I could make the time for it these days. The most important thing my grandmother told me as she was teaching me the skills: Learn to use your thimble!

    Next time you are in the KC area we should all meet up!

    -Natalie

    Reply
    • 4. mallorymurray  |  February 14, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Thank you for your sweet comment! It would be a blast to get together! I haven’t seen Kevin in forever and would love to meet you. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  • 5. francine  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:38 am

    hi i am so happy that you are sending those from patterns i just love it i am making quilts . just love to nmake quilt i started making quilts . now i can t stop thank you jenne for helping me have a great day will sent you some of the quilt i made by for now

    Reply
  • 6. sewbissy  |  March 1, 2010 at 10:00 am

    We share some of the same favorite colors! Until I decided to make a house block for my brother’s wedding quilt, I didn’t realize how many of them were out there. Yours turned out beautifully! A table runner of these would be so pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,679 hits

Posts through time


