Other quilt examples

February 6, 2010 at 9:52 am 2 comments

Yesterday I found some old photos I thought I had lost, of quilts I had made and given away. It was more exciting than I can even express.

So here it is, photographic evidence of two other quilts I have created:

I made this baby quilt for a stylish friend of mine in San Francisco, who so graciously spent months in Missouri leading up to Obama’s election. I didn’t want to use traditional baby fabric, so I chose colors that went with some of the furniture they had in their nursery. I hand-tied this quilt with thin, cream-colored satin ribbon and extra poofy batting to keep baby nice and warm. The pattern is here.

Baby quilt - Yellow Brick Road design

Closeup

And the last project I found pictures of – a wedding gift for one of my oldest and dearest friends. This again is a strip-based quilt, only this is made of 5X10 pieces with no staggered seams. I was feeling a bit more confident with my measuring and sewing skills by this point. šŸ™‚ I also sewed a thin contrasting border of 2X12 inch pieces to add some more interest. The quilter I took this to actually chose the binding, and I just loved it.

šŸ™‚

Backing

Stitching closeup

Thanks to Matt for modeling. šŸ™‚

Entry filed under: handsewn, quilting, sewing, strip quilting. Tags: , , , , , .

The best way to eat a steak Strategic planning, Super Bowl and sappiness

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trisha  |  February 8, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for checking out our blog! No, Helvetica doesn’t make you a nerd…..or if it does, we must be nerds too! I have always wanted to quilt. Hopefully, one day this dream will come true.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  February 21, 2010 at 11:35 am

    beautiful fabric combination!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,679 hits

Posts through time


