Tomatoes in the winter

February 2, 2010 at 6:34 am 1 comment

My favorite thing to do in the spring and summer is spend almost every waking minute I can in my garden. I love to be covered in mud, surrounded by beautiful things in bloom. In the mornings, I always run out to check new growth before heading to work. As soon as I get home in the evenings I dive right in to weed, water, check progress and harvest fruits and veggies. Most of the time, I don’t even take the time to change and am weeding in high heels and dress pants.

Winter is a rough time for most anyone in the frozen midwest, but it’s especially rough for us gardeners. No light, no garden therapy … we’re left to peruse pictures of the past year’s gardens and buy seeds in hope for an unseasonably warm early spring.

Thus in fall and winter I turn to sewing projects and crochet, and all things indoors. Enter the perfect, oldfashioned, quick sewing project that brings minds to the warm summer ahead.

See inspiration here. I love Martha Stewart’s section of homemade gift ideas, and this one is especially fitting. What can be sweeter than handy-dandy tomato pincushions cheering up the house on snowy days? They are super easy to make, taking less than 20 minutes a piece to sew, and can be made in front of the TV or fireplace. As usual, I went a bit overboard – and made 12 one evening while we were watching a movie. It’s the perfect use of scrap fabric and has kept any dogs in this family from stepping on a sewing pin in quite some time.

Entry filed under: gardening, handsewn, quick project. Tags: , , , , , , .

KU vs. KState vs. Division II Did I mention I miss my garden?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kathy L  |  April 5, 2010 at 4:06 am

    Awesomely cute tomato pincushions! I love your vintage fabric choices. When I get my fill of the strawberries, I know I’ll have to move on to the tomatoes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,594 hits

Posts through time


