Another strip quilt

February 1, 2010 at 10:30 am 1 comment

This quilt is my most recent creation, as well as the first quilt I’ve made for our house.

For Christmas, Matt’s parents gave me the most amazing rotary cutter – a Gingher designer series (Nikki). Having previously owned the $9 WalMart brand rotary cutter, let me tell you – this was a whole new experience. They were also generous enough to give us each some money, so of course I had to go to the fabric store.

Right after Christmas we ventured to Urban Arts and Crafts, a very small but very cool store in Kansas City. They have probably only a hundred or so bolts of fabric, but they are all beautiful designer fabrics – my favorites being Amy Butler and the bright, springy florals.

I bought a 1/2 yard of several fabrics, and 2 yards of my favorite fabric for a quilt backing. The technique for this quilt was very similar to the previous strip quilt I showed on here, only I cut all of the pieces to the same width and then cut them all to random lengths. This again allowed for staggered seams and a more complicated looking quilt, without actually being more complicated.

After a weekend of sewing, the quilt was ready. I took it to my favorite quilter in St. Joseph – she is amazing, quick and reasonable. I received this quilt back at the end of this month and am in love. It goes perfectly in our house, and made a Christmas gift I will always remember.

Finished quilt laying on our bed. Please ignore the terrible lighting.

The backing fabric. My favorite.

Entry filed under: quilting, sewing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

New toy KU vs. KState vs. Division II

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jean Schoenfelder  |  February 11, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Beautiful job Mallory! The fabrics are so cheery. You are catching the quilting “fever”. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

My name is Mallory Murray and I have a love of all things oldfashioned. I'm a modern day feminist who also adores Martha Stewart. Read on for my sewing, crochet, cooking, gardening, quilting and crafting projects. I am the chief officer of marketing and design at Northwest Missouri State University, so expect the occasional random post about marketing/universities/design. I dream of a hobby farm with baby doll sheep, a sheep dog, a small flock of chickens, and other animals to be announced. I'm also a Pitt State grad, football lover, HGTV addict and obsessed with the color aqua.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 51,590 hits

Posts through time


